Lend Me A Tenor BROADWAY REVIEWS

  • tenor
  • NY TIMES

  • AP

  • NY POST

  • VARIETY

  • USA TODAY

Opening Night:
April 4, 2010
Closing:
August 15, 2010

Theater: Music Box Theatre / 239 West 45th Street, New York, NY, 10036

Synopsis: 

Set in the 1930s, Lend Me a Tenor is a madcap screwball comedy that takes place when Tito Merelli, the fiery-tempered and world famous Italian superstar, arrives in Cleveland, Ohio to make his debut with the local opera and promptly goes missing. As Saunders, the show's presenter, conspires to cover for Tito's absence, placate his hot-blooded wife, and distract his most passionate fans, chaos on a truly operatic level ensues.

BUY TICKETS BUY GROUP TICKETS
  • NEW YORK TIMES REVIEW OF Lend Me A Tenor

    Charles Isherwood

    April 4, 2010: One, two, three, four, five. Yes, that’s five doors on the stage of the Music Box Theater, where a revival of Ken Ludwig’s “Lend Me a Tenor” opened Sunday night. Five doors, primed for slamming, in a single hotel suite. All but incontrovertible physical evidence that farce is on the bill.

    READ THE REVIEW
  • ASSOCIATED PRESS REVIEW OF Lend Me A Tenor

    April 4, 2010: The frantic foolishness that fuels "Lend Me a Tenor" has not diminished in the two decades since the Ken Ludwig comedy's initial New York appearance. If anything, the play's desperation quotient — a prime ingredient of any farce worth its belly laughs — has only increased in the show's first Broadway revival, which opened Sunday at the Music Box Theatre.

    READ THE REVIEW
  • NEW YORK POST REVIEW OF Lend Me A Tenor

    April 4, 2010: There are bona fide stars in the re vival of Ken Ludwig's "Lend Me a Tenor," which opened last night: Tony Shalhoub from "Monk" and Anthony LaPaglia, a Tony winner for "A View From the Bridge" in 1998.

    READ THE REVIEW
  • VARIETY REVIEW OF Lend Me A Tenor

    Lend Me a Tenor

    Marilyn Stasio

    April 5, 2010: Audiences from Boca Raton to Baden Baden have been laughing themselves silly at "Lend Me a Tenor" since 1986, when Ken Ludwig's opera buffa was first produced on the West End by Andrew Lloyd Webber. After its 1989 Broadway premiere, show's been done around the world and is a perennial favorite of regional and community theaters in the USA. Not to be denied their own fun, helmer Stanley Tucci and a contingent of Broadway and Hollywood stars toplined by Tony Shalhoub and Anthony LaPaglia are now lending their glamour to this warhorse, giving a new generation reason to roar.

    READ THE REVIEW
  • USA TODAY REVIEW OF Lend Me A Tenor

    April 4, 2010: Never underestimate the entertainment value of watching talented people make fools of themselves. I'm not talking about the embarrassment of tabloid media. Less guilty pleasures are on tap at Broadway's Music Box Theatre, where a raucous revival of Lend Me a Tenor opened Sunday.

    READ THE REVIEW
  • NEW YORK DAILY NEWS REVIEW OF Lend Me A Tenor

    April 4, 2010: Speed, finesse and keen comic chops are key ingredients to any farce. Happily, they're all in ample supply in director Stanley Tucci's antic revival of "Lend Me a Tenor."

    READ THE REVIEW

BEST REVIEWED SHOWS

Mormon    JerseyBoys    Phantom    Motown    Wicked
DOWNLOAD THE APP